Different file types in Microsoft Word

Microsoft Word supports different file types and you can save the document using appropriate file type depending upon your need. Listed below are most commonly used file types in Word 2013, Word 2010, Word 2007 and Word 2011 for Mac

  • .dxcxThis is the default file type for all word versions from Word 2007 – Word 2013.
  • .dotx – Default file type for word templates for for all word versions from Word 2007 – Word 2013.
  • .doc – This is older version file type which was used by versions prior to Word 2007.
  • .docm – For storing macro enabled word documents.
  • .dotm – New version for storing macros enabled templates.
  • .dot – Older version for storing macros enabled templates (prior to Word 2007).
  • .rft – Rich Text Format document.
  • .txt – Standing text document.
  • .htm, .html – Standard web page.
  • .xml – File type for saving document with xml extension.
  • .pdf – Portable Document Format.
  • .mht – Single file web page.
In Category: MS Office, Word 2007, Word 2010, Word 2013

Ravi Shankar

A Software developer and blogger who is always looking to provide technical help to the wider community.

Show 0 Comments
No comments yet. Be the first.

Leave a Comment

Get your free copies of the following tech guides by joining the Digital Answers mailing list.