Disable automatic deletion of meeting requests in Outlook 2010

If you do not want to automatically delete a meeting requests or notification or  after responding then you can disable this feature using Outlook Email Options. Click on the File menu –> Options link navigate to Mail tab on the left hand side and scroll down Send messages section.

image

Un tick the check box with label Delete meeting requests and notification from Inbox after responding. Click Ok to save the changes. Now if you accept any appointment requests or notifications, the requests will not be automatically removed from the Inbox.

Demo Video – Disable automatic deletion of meeting requests in Outlook 2010

In Category: Office 2010, Outlook 2010

Ravi Shankar

A Software developer and blogger who is always looking to provide technical help to the wider community.

Show 9 Comments
  • ids March 4, 2011, 12:47 am

    Exactly what I needed, thank you, thank you, thank you.

  • Helen April 7, 2011, 1:02 am

    That option on my outlook is grayed out and I cannot uncheck it. I would like to keep the meeting invites in my inbox. How can i ungray those options?
    Thank you.

  • Charles Smith April 13, 2011, 6:55 am

    Doesn’t work from OWA http://superuser.com/questions/254454

  • ramesh June 16, 2011, 9:13 pm

    Excellent.. I have been experience this problem since long time. But unable to make out it.. I was going through deleted mails today, there I found all these auto deleted meetings invites sitting..

    This is first result in my google search, Thank you so much for detailed trouble-shooting steps with screen-shot. Wow..!

    -Ramesh

  • Ravi Shankar June 18, 2011, 8:54 am

    Thanks Ramesh. Glad that this post was useful to you.

    Regards
    Ravi

  • Wayne garmil September 21, 2011, 1:04 am

    This is exactly what I just spent way too long searching for in the options (after I finally found the options in the first place). VERY annoying that Outlook 2010 ignored my previous settings when I was upgraded (although it may have been IT who reset my options to the default values as part of the upgrade).

  • Rich Tomkinson January 18, 2012, 1:39 am

    Thanks! I had this set up in Outlook 2003, but not when upgraded to 2010. I tried looking for it several times, but couldn’t find it. Never occurred to me to look in the send messages section.

    I absolutely hate it when companies relocate all of their settings and change all of their icons when a new version comes out. There is almost never a good reason for it, other than to let you know that you “upgraded”.

  • Ayrton Moreira January 28, 2013, 5:23 pm

    Thanks a lot for posting this tip. Saved me a lot of time.
    All the best.

Leave a Comment

Get your free copies of the following tech guides by joining the Digital Answers mailing list.