Download free ebooks – Windows 8, Mac OS X, MSOffice, Keynote, Nexus etc.

How to clear the recently accessed documents in Adobe Reader X

Adobe Reader X displays recently accessed documents as part of the File menu.

image

If you want to clear the recently accessed documents in Adobe Reader, then you can use the Preferences settings to change this behaviour. In Adobe Reader, click Edit menu and select Preferences from the menu list

image

In the Preferences screen, navigate to document categories and then the Open settings section.

image

To clear the recently accessed document, set the value as zero for Documents in recently used list. Click OK button to apply and save the changes.

10 comments… add one
  • Thank you so much for this tip, it was driving me crazy! 🙂

  • This is exactly what i wanted!! without using the dangerous ”regedit”

    This work so much I had an error file with a horrible name that didn’t open or close because was and error temporary file but with this deletes it, this works so good thanks I went to adobe home page but they did not had the answer they said it was impossible, I used something similar on Microsoft windows a long time ago.

  • Oops…! Adobe doesn’t allow a zero.So forced to enter ‘1’

  • No it doesn’t allow to enter the zero value. It describing that value should be 1-10

  • this had made me extremely angry adobe because it’s nobody’s business what i read in adobe yet i have to deal with sharing my recently viewed file

    get it together now adobe!

  • Thank You so much for this… it’s really helpful.. compare to regedit.

    Kudos….

  • thnx this solution is great

  • thnx this solution is good

  • this trick was absulotely good
    Thank you for this

  • It’s odd that this article was written in Apr 17, 2015 yet it has comments going as far as 2011.

    Anyway, in the version as of this date, you can indeed put 0 in the list.

    But why does it not clear the recent “location”, which is a new section in the “view recent files”. My recent files list is now blank, but the location still shows the folder from the last file opened. How do you clear that?

Leave a Comment

Get your free copies of the following tech guides by joining the Digital Answers mailing list.